2019 election: EFCC grill Zamfara INEC officials over diversion of N84.6m AdHoc staff salary

Spread the love

By Mary BASSEY, Senior Investigator Reporter, Lagos.

Two sleazy officials of the Independent National  Electoral Commission INEC, Messrs Hassan Sidi Aliyu,  Administrative Secretary,  Hussain Jafar Head of Operations, Abdullahi Yusuf Abubakar State Accountant and Abdulmumin Usman attached to Zamfara State office have been arrested by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission EFCC. The officials were alleged to have conspired together to divert a whopping N84, 696,000 staff salary. CrimeWorld was told that the arrest which was carried out by operatives attached to the Commission’s Sokoto Zonal Office followed a petition to that effect. A statement by the Commission’s Head, Media and publicity, Wilson Uwujarren and made available to us said that the thieving INEC officials were already being grilled to ascertain their respective involvement in the scam. Uwujaren informed that the money was actually meant for INEC’S AdHoc staff adding that the crime was an alleged conspiracy, breach of trust and criminal diversion of AdHoc staff allowance.  According to him, “The petitioner one Abdullahi Nasiru who wrote on behalf of all presiding officers that worked for INEC during the  2019 Presidential and Gubernatorial elections in  Zamfara State, alleges that the  Adhoc staff were denied payment of their N6,000 movement allowance each for the two elections. He further alleged that what the Commission paid to them was different from what other states paid their Adhoc staff.  The Commision allegedly paid its staff the sum of N9000 (Nine Thousand Naira ) in Zamfara while other states like Sokoto State, the commission paid N12000 (Twelve Thousand Naira ).

Investigation by the EFCC  revealed that none of the 10,500 presiding officers who participated in the elections were paid their entitlements commutatively put at N84, 696,000 (Eighty Four Million, Six Hundred and Ninety Six Thousand Naira). Effort is being made by the Commission to recover the money criminally diverted by the 3 INEC heads of department and Electoral Officers  of the 14 local governments in Zamfara State namely; Abdullahi Sambawa, Zurmi LGA; Aliyu Jafaru Goronyo,  Maradun LGA;  Balarabe Ahmed S Gobir, Gummi LGA; Amadu Ibrahim, Gusau LGA; Mohammed Bashir Musa, Kaura Namoda LGA; Dalhatu Usman Musa,Birnin Magaji LGA; Abdulmumin Usman, Maru LGA; Muhammad

*The arrested INEC  officials…

Nasir Saidu, Talatu Mafara LGA; Abdullahi A. Ukashatu, Tsafe LGA; Tukur Garba Kaita, Bungudu LGA; Salihu Musa Abdullahi, Bukuyun LGA;  Sadiq Abdullahi, Fari Anka LGA; Lawali Muhammed, Argungu Bakura LGA; Jafaru Gide, Shinkafi LGA; Tanimu Muhammad, Shinkafi LGA; Hassan Abdullahi,Shinkafi LGA. The suspects would be arraigned in court as soon as investigation is completed.”

Copyright CrimeWorld:   All rights reserved. It is an offense to either broadcast, reproduce, rewrite, publish and redistribute this material partly or wholly without the express permission from Frontpage CrimeWorld Publishers Nigeria Limited

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *